I am cooking up a project to hook with you

Next Friday I am going to begin a tutorial on hooking a geometric chair pad so that we can hook a project together. On a scale of 1 (easy enough for someone who knows the basics of rug hooking) to 5 (challenging for experience rug hookers) I would give this project a difficulty rating of 2. There will be some curved rows of hooking in the design, and starting and stopping on a narrow angle. So even if you are a beginner, I would give it a try. If you are a seasoned rug hooker I think that this will be a fun project. Being a hit or miss geometric will mean that you can approach this as a color study.

Note that I am not giving you beginner instructions on how to hook. If you don’t know how to rug hook you can do a web search to find out how. I believe that there are even some online videos on how to hook. I am also not going into much detail with the finishing instructions. This series will be instructions on designing and color planning.

For backing you will need a piece that is 20″ by 20″ or whatever dimension will fit on your frame. You will also need a fabric marker. We will be utilizing our scraps for this piece. I will be working with a wide cut, mostly in an 8 (which means 1/4″ wide strips). The design will be a simple geometric that you can hand draw yourself.

I know that having the backing fabric readily on hand may be a problem for some. Since this is a chair pad and could be a wall piece you could get away with using a light colored burlap from your local fabric store. This is the bleached and colored variety of burlap. I don’t mean burlap used for gardening which is very low quality. I usually don’t recommend burlap at all for hooking because it can give some folks allergic reactions as you hook and does not stand up to the test of time. But if it is all you can get ahold of on short notice, use it knowing that you will have to let this project be an art piece.

This is your heads up so that you will be able to prepare to jump in if you like. You might consider telling your hooking friends far and near so that we can all work on the same project together. To make it easy you can sign up to this blog and that way you will receive an email when I create a new post.

More fun to come ~ Karen

18 thoughts on “I am cooking up a project to hook with you

  1. How cool is this. Almost like being in your studio and hooking with you. I have no supplies with me, here in Destin. Madly searching for some linen I can use. We don’t even have a JoAnn’s….can you imagine? People here are supposed to sunbathe and party….not sew or hook!
    BTW, look at your absolutely gorgeous skin!!!!!! I am off to lather on another coat of moisturizer! LOL.

    Like

  2. I’m in! This sounds like it will be fun and distracting from the project I have going right now, which at this moment is anything but fun.

    Like

Leave a Reply

