Cedar Leaf Shawlette is soft and cozy

Fortunately summer is long in coming to Eugene, so in the coolness of the morning I can model my latest knitting project, the Cedar Leaf Shawlette that I started at the Black Sheep Gathering a couple of weeks ago.

It was a relaxing and easy knit for me, with yards and yards of stockinette stitch and some garter stitch, too. The bind off was a lovely scalloped leaf lace design. My greatest challenge was finding a large enough pin-able area to block the piece. I resorted to taping together cardboard pieces to my work table.

Then came lots and lots of pins. My make-shift blocking table worked great.

I love wearing it as a scarf, wrapped around a couple of times with the ends dangling in front.

Here I am dreaming of knitting it in a lavender colored handspun that I made. The yarn has been waiting in the wings for a while since it was not enough to make into a sweater. It will be enough for this pattern. So happy to have found the perfect project for it.

Find a creative spot — that is my wish for you today ~ Karen

24 thoughts on “Cedar Leaf Shawlette is soft and cozy

      • Well, I thought I replied to this last night, but I guess it didn’t ‘take’! So, I have no yarn picked out yet. I was just wondering if cotton/silk would look as nice as wool since (in a whisper voice) I’m allergic to lanolin – no wool for me. Sad but true. I love knitting with cotton and stick to simple patterns that I don’t have to think too hard about. This shawl is so pretty though, I am thinking about trying it.

        Like

  1. I had no idea that alpaca was lanolin-free! I am going to look for an alpaca sweater for the fall and do a test. My reaction to lanolin is pretty severe, so I will tread carefully. If I’m good, it opens a whole wonderful new option for me – THANK YOU!! 🙂

    Like

    • yes, alpaca is a totally different creature and does not have lanolin! i could send you a fiber sample if you want to try holding it before buying a garment. let me know. i have lots of spinning fiber around and i would be happy to send you a sample to hug… or to gingerly touch at first….! i would hate for you to have a nasty reaction of any kind!

      Like

      • That is so sweet of you to offer! We need to exchange e-mail and addresses since I have some ‘Hawesome Hawbanero Hawt Sawes” with your name on it! I’m onto an idea of how to send it to you so that it stays cool! 🙂 When you have a moment, can you e-mail me your mailing address: JodyRTR@me.com

        Like

Leave a Reply

