Color inspiration is ready to pick in my garden today

Color inspiration is ready to pick in my garden today as the berries are ripe. Here is one of my very favorite color combinations: red and green. Complementary colors, they enliven each other. And you can really see this fact here in my raspberry patch. I can barely keep up with picking fruit, a happy problem to have! We also have blueberries, marion berries, and rhubarb coming on.

I am a mulch gardener. I hate weeding and watering. The mulch moderates the moisture of the soil and keeps the weeds down. And I love the look and smell of the straw on the garden.

The far bed on the left is dedicated to growing tomatoes. Summer is still young and the all of the plants are still in the neat and tidy stage. But soon they will be reaching out into the paths and into each other’s spaces. My job is to figure out how to eat everything when it is ready to be picked. I am growing a lot of swiss chard, which tastes similar to spinach. Steamed chard has been on the menu for several weeks now, and I love it!

Basil is also ready to pick and make into pesto sauce. This is one of the highlights of the growing season for me. How I wish that I could synchronize the season and get ripe tomatoes right now! But they are weeks away from being ready to pick.

I like to make room for a few flowers in my vegetable patch, and here are the morning-glory vines, almost ready to add a splash of color to the middle of the garden.

I look out on the garden as I write this post, through my studio window. And as nature seems to know just what to do without any prompting from me, each seed knows what to become, each shrub knows which berry to make, so I know what I am here to do. I am nourished by beauty and color, and because of it I am inspired to create my art, my crafts. So blessed I am to let it flow naturally from my heart!

What inspires you today? ~ Karen

19 thoughts on “Color inspiration is ready to pick in my garden today

  1. Your gardens are beautiful and GREEN. Ours are no longer “lush”. It’s been too hot and dry here, but nothing like in the middle of the country.
    What are marion berries? Are they sweet? What color are they?

    Like

  2. What an enchanting corner of the world, Karen ~ so lovely! Such inspiration for your artist’s palette and your culinary one, too!
    This morning, my 3 cats are my inspiration. They are always ready to make me laugh 🙂

    rebecca

    Like

  3. Good Morning Karen,
    It seems amazing that you are not experiencing the summer yet! Makes us think about Oregon as a place to check out right now, lol! As Pat mentioned above we are experiencing drought conditions and it is taking everything we got to hold onto the vegation we have. We were very fortunate to have a wonderful Spring and I do remember, much like your garden, the lush colors and how nature doesn’t care if blue green goes with yellow green or yellow flowers in the middle of an evergreen color. Nature seems to have colors Mastered for sure and I try to take note and mimic in my work.
    Keep us dreaming of the early summer days!
    Sheri

    Like

    • i do hope you all have some relief with the drought. you know we had a pretty sad spring with no sun and cold temps. i was wearing my winter clothes well into summer here! nothing is typical anymore. it is all a surprise! i just hope i can be childlike and receive the newness of it all without my typical crotchety reaction to it being ‘unseasonal’ ! you know what i mean?

      Like

      • How true and I’m glad you said that. We just need to accept the conditions and move on!
        I do appreciate your blog, the writing style and your creative spirit!
        Have a wonderful day!

        Like

  4. Gorgeous garden. I have an acre to care for and here in central Illinois I have had no rain for two months and consistent 100+ to 90 degree days. There was such promise in the Spring and now it just makes me sad to see all the area trees and shrubs dieing. I am happy to see your garden flourish.

    Like

    • what a contrast to our mostly mild weather here. we had such a non-existent spring with rain and clouds and cool. and today we have clouds and smattering of rain and i am wearing socks and sweats!

      Like

  5. kaREN LOVED YOUR LITTLE HOOKED FLOWER ON JULY 18 BLOG YOUR GARDEN LOOKS SO NEAT AND GREAT. STARTED MY GARDEN OUT WITH NEWSPAPER AND THEN COVERED WITH MULCH HAY. GOT HALF WAY AND THENTHE BUGS AND NO RAIN GOT TO IT. ONLY HAVE TONS OF POTATOES. CUCUMBERS AABD SQUASG PEPPERS COMINF TOMATOES WILL BE A LONG TIME YET. THANKS FOR SHARING ALL YOUR FUN THINGS I HAVE TOO MUCH TO DO ALWAYS FIRST ON MY LIST IS SWIMMING IN SOUND EACH DAY VERY HEALTHY? BET IT IS ALOT COOLERMTHERE? BIG STORM COMING TODAY.HOPE I DID THIS RIGHT SO YOU GET IT. PLEASE REPLY TO ME?

    Like

  6. Your garden is lovely! I do so love raspberries especially! I have been picking okra which I enjoy cut up, coated with cornmeal and fried in the iron skillet. It loves the hot summer sun and is prolific as are the tomatoes!! The only problem is the fuzzy okra makes my hands itch terribly–gardening gloves help!

    Like

  7. Oh how I love raspberries! I so agree about the green/red color combination! I have wanted to plant a patch for the longest time. Yours are an inspiration to me. How do you keep birds and other berry consumers from harvesting before you get to?!

    Like

    • yes, i am mostly in competition with the bugs! they suck on the juices — isn’t that disgusting? anyway, i have to throw away a certain amount of my crop because they are spoiled by buggies.

      Like

Leave a Reply

