I came, I saw, I felt

Felting is such a fun way to use fiber. The other day my friend and fiber diva Beki Ries Montgomery came over to do some nuno felting with me. It was so much fun for me, partly because Beki was the expert and all I had to do was just follow along with her. It was also made special by the fact that my dye kitchen/studio was getting used for another fiber art.

Nuno felting is a process of felting a very light layer of raw fiber through a lightweight fabric. The result is very drapey and wearable. I have been wanting to try this technique for some time, and having Beki’s guidance was indispensable.

I did mean to take photos as we worked, but it was all so intense, all I had to show for it is the finished work. We both made a scarf mobius. The base of the piece is a long habotai scarf that I had previously hand-dyed. We used hand-dyed Merino/Angora batts to layer onto the scarf.

You layer fiber onto both sides of the silk scarf and then saturate it all with your soapy water, roll it up in plastic and felt it. Beki has perfected her technique and I don’t want to go into detail about it as she teaches the process herself. I can share that you then slit the scarf top to bottom down the middle only part way. This creates the mobius-like wrap that you see here.

If you are interested in learning to nuno felt, there are wonderful books on the method. One in my library is the beautifully colorful and illustrated book Felting Fashion by Lizzie Houghton. This book will inspire you and give you many ideas for projects.

As the piece fulls or felts, the wool/Angora shrinks as it clings to the silk. The fibers work their way through the scarf and become a part of the scarf. This creates wonderful puckers and folds in the silk that peek through here and there. I love this effect. You are left with a silk ruffle on one edge, and the wool felt on the other edge.

I want to make more of these, trying differing amounts of silk exposed on the edges. The hard decision is what colors to do next?

Have a creative day ~ Karen

9 thoughts on “I came, I saw, I felt

  1. Fabulous! Love, Love, Love the colors used! Can’t wait to see you model the scarf. Once again I’ve been exposed to another fiber art process which I will try all because of your “Can’t wait to see what she’ll write about next” blog!
    Thank you very much!

    Like

  2. Hi Karen,
    There was a lady just inside and to the left when you walked into the building at the Black Sheep Festival in Eugene last June. She had beautiful scarves and wraps and even jackets that she had felted. That was the first time I had ever been exposed to nuno felting. I didn’t even know what it was called, so thanks for the book idea and the name to apply to this technique. Your scarf/wrap is beautiful.

    Like

Leave a Reply

