Keeping a record of your work with a journalling tag

I love to be organized and I had fun making these wool tags to journal my completed rug design. I have been meaning to keep a record of my wools, but never had an inspiration for compiling them. A while ago I coffee stained a batch of large tags, and thought that they would be the perfect backdrop for stapling my wools. I used small 1″ X 2″ or so pieces of wool. For this rug I used 4 tags and stapled them in tiers on one side of each tag.

Under the first tier of wools I wrote what the colors were used for in the design.

I have left a space between each row of wools to write notes. Use as many tags as needed. I made simple notes, but you can be as elaborate as you like.

The finished tags look so artful.

They are inspiring colorways that can be used again. Just looking at them gives me ideas for future projects.

My journal tags can be an end in themselves, lovely wool mixtures, displayed prominently on the handle of a bag or suitcase or draped on a door knob.

Thanks for being a part of my week, Karen

12 thoughts on “Keeping a record of your work with a journalling tag

  1. I’ve seen those tags hanging on your cupboard noob and always wondered what they were for. Some many good and pretty ideas! Thanks Karen. Mo

    Like

  2. a wonderful idea! I’m going to start this with the two rugs I have in process now! BTW, do you happen to sell these tags (seems you might have described doing them but can’t remember if you offered them for sale)?

    Like

  3. What a great idea–so much more inspiring than putting all of that in a notebook-(which gets closed up) and maybe never looked at again!

    Like

  4. I love the sunset colors on the buildings (ochre) and the turquoise water in one of your Port Townsend photos. Those colors are so beautiful. Would make great colors in a rug. Neat picture of doorknob and plaque around it. (There must be a name for those!?) I can see how your mellowed, nuanced colors connect with those images you photographed. I’ve actually been to Port Townsend (I live in Iowa) when my husband and I visited Banff, Vancouver and Victoria as we traveled to the 2002 Convergence conference in Vancouver sponsored by the Handweavers Guild of America. We had a lovely meal in Port Townsend and rode on the Black Ball Ferry Line on our journey home. Saw lots of pilot whales in the water in late July/early August. Thanks for making such a wonderful Web site. I treasure the wool I have purchased from you. I’m doing more rug hooking than weaving these days, but I love both of these fiber arts. Wish I knew how to knit, though. Aquiring that skill has eluded me, and I feel I am missing out on something wonderful. Is it too late to learn to knit? I feel young most days, but I’m almost 57!

    Like

    • rose, it is a wonderful time to learn to knit (and crochet if you haven’t learned that). there are wonderful knit shops that have staff who will teach you, or have beginner classes. online, simply google “learn to knit”, and many tutorials, some instructional videos, are there for you. you will not regret learning, it is a relaxing craft! thank you for your comment and for being a part of the blog family, karen

      Like

Leave a Reply

