I had a fiber-liscious time at our Holiday Show at the Grange in Eugene

This is my second year in a row vending at the Spencer Creek Grange Hall for our Holiday Sale the weekend of Thanksgiving. Here is my booth this year. Among other things, I sold one of a kind jewelry, pins, and knit wear.

I enjoyed putting my booth together using my favorite vintage things and collections, such as my barkcloth, suitcases, and sewing boxes. Here are the Rag Doll fabric pins that I made using vintage buttons, linens and cotton homespuns and prints.

My booth themes were French and Sewing. Here is a dress form that I sewed from a pattern that I bought on etsy HERE. The dress form looks like an old one. My suitcase was piled with knitted things.

Deb Hebert had her booth with spun and woven items. She uses her hand spun yarns for her pieces: bags, pillows, and ornaments.

Here are some of her little bags. She is in the process of creating a blog HERE. Check back later for more.

Janis Thompson had her Dyelots! booth selling hand dyed yarns, roving and silk ribbon. See more of her HERE. She teaches also has some fun video tutorials for you to see.

Beki Ries Montgomery had ice dyed silk scarves.

Tree had hand bound journals. She has an etsy shop HERE.

Annabelle Postles, Janis’ mom, has a range of things to choose from. Here we see her hats, ceramic buttons, and dyed silk scarves. She also has woven and knitted items. You can contact Annabelle at postles6019(at)comcast(dot)net. She also has a sock knitting machine, and produces wonderful hand knit socks in all colors and sizes at very reasonable prices.

Rolly Thompson of Fox Hollow Farm raises sheep and alpacas, and sells her hand dyed fibers. Go HERE to see her farm and merchandise.

Needless to say, being around all my fiber friends gave me a reason to do some spinning.

Several of us had our spinning wheels there and made the weekend a mini retreat. Here is my before picture of this luscious 50/50 Merino/Silk roving. This was hand dyed by Janis at Dyelots! and looks like all the steampunk metallic metal colors that I love.

And here is the after photo on my spinning wheel bobbin. I will ply this with another more muted tan-brown colorway. I am earmarking this yarn for another shawlette/scarf for knitting this winter.

We will be doing this show again, perhaps at a different venue closer in town. If you live in the Eugene area, plan to be a part of the fun next year.

Have a wonderful day creating, Karen

6 thoughts on “I had a fiber-liscious time at our Holiday Show at the Grange in Eugene

  1. Karen ~ this is unlike any Grange show we would have here in Ohio!! Beautiful things, beautifully presented! If I was nearby, I would have been first in line at the door! Thanks for the artist’s links and have a good day!

    Like

Leave a Reply

