Working with colorful wool on a dismal day

DSCF1001If it is going to be drizzly all day, at least I can have colors in my hands! And today I am preparing for a class, and putting together wool packets for everyone. I am working out in my garden studio where I keep all of my wool.

DSCF1010This is a close up of Summer Basket, and I am finding colors for the bold outline in the flowers.

DSCF1004I typically use many colors in my outlines, so that they look surprising, giving the piece a more time-worn look.

DSCF1011

DSCF1016I think that class time should be fun and I do everything ahead of time to try to make class a success for each person. I have been working several weeks already, and have almost 2 months to go before I ship everything out.

DSCF1018I get excited myself when I organize wool, as I get to kind of re-live hooking each design, enjoying the play of color that seems to come like magic. I love the way the wools look together.

DSCF1020Lovely wool on a rainy day. Luckily I can play inside.

16 thoughts on “Working with colorful wool on a dismal day

  1. karen love the wool kit that you are putting together for your class such fun. how many students do you have in a class and where will it be held?? how much do you charge for kit, wool and class?? thanks so much and hope you can reply to this as i am always finding it hard to send it back to you see if it works this time. linda k.

    Like

  2. Thank you Karen for an inspirational day. I haven’t hooked since the rug show here in Vermont since November and need to start a new project. I might just start the bee pillow pattern with soft spring colors.

    Like

  3. Hi Karen,
    Lucky students to have those lovely wools handpicked by you to work with! I can fully appreciate the hours you put in preparing for your classes! So much work and thinking involved! Thank-you for sharing your thoughts and your ending note about regarding it as play! Yes indeed… I’m right there with you! Best wishes for a successful class!
    Hugs!!
    Cathy G

    Like

  4. oh my what a perfect way to spend a dreary day! well any day for that matter! love watching you “work” in your garden studio! beautiful wool to touch and see! love it all karen…gives me inspiration! enjoy!

    Like

Leave a Reply

