Recent work sneak peeks

DSCF1036You got some sneak peeks of the Tipp City rug, and I wanted to share a few more photos of that rug. I began working on the central motif, working out the colors of the house and central background first.

DSCF1035I was using a primary color scheme: yellow, blue, and red. I knew that I would be using a lot of neutrals or chameleon colors in the hit or miss outer background.

DSCF1051Hit or miss gives a rug a very antique look. If you study vintage rugs you will notice how the lines of hit or miss are uneven and somewhat haphazard. I love that look, and emulate it when I create the lines for hit or miss in my rugs.

DSCF1017

Here is the finished design, the photo taken in my Tipp City class with Alice Strebel. I will be making this design available next year in some form, probably through my etsy shop.

In the meantime, I have been finishing another design for next year’s catalog.

DSCF1088

Here is a sneak peek of it as I am working on the crocheted edges.

DSCF1087

I love working of smaller pieces. And this one has so many of my favorite elements: hit or miss and tongues at the edges and floral motifs. I chose soft and muted antique colors to make it look instantly old and worn.

DSCF1089 DSCF10902013 is wrapping up for my business, and I have to think about my catalog for next year. I am in the midst of computer problems, so I have a lot of work to do to fix them — and then create a catalog. When will this all happen?!

I wish that all I did was commune with fibers, but there are many other behind the scenes details to my work that fall under the not-so-fun heading. But I am so grateful to be creating and crafting and having my business — I would not wish to do otherwise.

DSCF1003Recently I have added a couple of new products to my etsy shop. One is a PDF instant download of my prodded fringe tutorial. Find it by clicking here.

DSCF1009This is my favorite way to finish hooked pillows as it makes sewing it up fun and easy. I also sell the Prodding Tool for this technique.

il_570xN.517776031_qfd7The other new product is an instant PDF download of my Birdhouse Paper Pattern set. This PDF pattern is now in small and large sizes, both offered so that you can hook them as full sized ornaments, as well as needle punch them as smaller ornaments, pins or embellishments. Perfect little handmade gifts. Find them by clicking here.

I will be making more things available in PDF instant download form, as I enjoy the economy and instant gratification of being able to begin a project to work on as soon as I pay for it. My motto: Nothing like now!

Thanks for stopping by and have a creative day ~ Karen

19 thoughts on “Recent work sneak peeks

  1. Love your Tipp City rug and anxious to see your new pattern hidden under the wool strips! The little ornaments were so cute ~ I had onevin my hand to buy when friend, Heidi told me they were your samples!!! Guess I’ll have to make one of my own!! The PDF pattern is a good idea! Happy hooking, friend!

    Like

  2. Hi Karen! Love your new design, and the colors are gorgeous! Your color work is ALWAYS an inspiration for me. I received your birdies pattern from the K.C. workshop several years ago. Last spring I hooked them all up, then found a great big branch with lots of tiny branches sticking out all over it. I put this in a vase with the bird/house ornaments hanging about. I used this as a centerpiece for a baby shower I was giving my step-daughter. The guests each got to choose an ornament. They were positivity thrilled, and I was afraid a fight would break out as each guest eyed the one they wanted (they weren’t aloud to take one until the end of the shower). I think I have pictures of it somewhere on my blog. Thanks for the lovely post!
    xo
    dulcy

    Like

  3. Your Tipp City rug looks wonderful. Very intriguing to see it finished. Love the downloads of the Bird House. Will make nice Xmas gifts for friends. Thank you.

    Like

  4. I love PDF patterns. All that money I would have spent on pesky shipping can buy wool instead. The bird houses are in my queue, along with Bittersweet. They just go together. My Tipp City project is progressing. I need another retreat to get it finished. Keep up the beautiful, inspiring work.

    Like

  5. What a joy it was to finally meet you in Tipp City. I finished my rug crocheted edge and all. What fun! I am so happy with it. How can I send you a picture?

    Like

Leave a Reply

