Home again

boxes

I am back in town! Shipping boxes and sad piles that only know how to call my name are in the way of getting from one place to the other!

But business is open which includes my ETSY shop.  Thanks for being patient this past month while I have been out-of-state. Below is a close-up of the Wooly Santa pattern available as a downloadable PDF.

wooly santa Z2 jpeg

December is here, and the cooler temperatures seem to say dye some wool! So if you are thinking about that, remember that I carry dyes for my dye books and Grays Dye Spoons.

dye spoons

My favorites as they are small enough to fit in little packets of dyestuff. When I finish with one dye powder I whisk the dye spoon through my salt jar to  sort of dry clean them. I don’t want to introduce DSCF1001water into the dye spoon area and need to keep them dry. Yet they do need a cleaning in between colors. Fill a small lidded glass jar with table salt and keep it exclusively with your dye spoons. As you use this ‘dry clean’ method your salt will start to turn color over time. When it gets dark and dirty looking and is full of dye you can sprinkle it on your wet wool for a grungy antique patina when you casserole dye. Nothing goes to waste!

Thanks for stopping by today. Remember to keep creativity in your holidays. Being creative gives me a grounded feeling which keeps me in touch with the home-made-ness that can sometimes be missing from our celebrations.

Be creative ~ Karen

 

8 thoughts on “Home again

  1. Glad you got home safely hope you enjoyed your trip. Paulette and I sure enjoyed our time with you and Ali in Tipp City . Hope our paths will pass again. Merry Christmas Helena Wentzlaff

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Like

  2. Ahhh, welcome home. Enjoyed meeting you in Tipp City. I tried the rug punch on a project, and I really think I need to work on a frame that has the brushes instead of the carpet tacks…will give it another go once the holidays are behind us. I almost have the challenge rug finished. Remember, I was going to try my hand a lots of patches of background color. Wishing you a lovely full holiday season.

    Like

    • hi jean, thank you for your comment. great to meet you too! i am curious as to why you need the brush strips for your frame. i use the carpet tack strips for all of my punch hooking. the brush strips will need to be covered if you are going to move the pattern over it (for a larger design).

      Like

Leave a Reply

